Tones in Pinyin

There are four tones in the Chinese Pinyin scheme, namely Yin Ping (the first tone), Yang Ping (the second tone), Shang Sheng (the third tone) and Qu Sheng (the fourth tone).
In addition,there's also a fifth tone,the neutral tone (named light tone in pinyin), unstressed syllable pronounced without its original pitch in Chinese pronunciation

  • 1st tone
  • 2nd tone
  • 3rd tone
  • 4th tone

Pronunciation of finals with tones

Listen & Read